Bhupinder Singh Hooda

From Jatland Wiki
(Redirected from Bhupendra Hudda)
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Bhupinder Singh Hooda
हरियाणा का प्रसिद्द नारा

Bhupinder Singh Hooda (born September 15, 1947) is an Indian politician and the ex-Chief Minister of Haryana (two consecutive terms: 2004-2014).


He was born at village Sanghi in Hooda gotra Jats in Rohtak district. Previously, he had been a Member of Indian Parliament (Lok Sabha) for four terms in 1991, 1996, 1998, 2004 and the Leader of Opposition in Haryana's Legislative Assembly from 2001 to 2004. Ch. B.S. Hooda also served as the President of HPCC (Haryana Pradesh Congress Committee) from 1996 to 2001. For three consecutive Lok Sabha terms he entered Indian Parliament defeating Ch. Devi Lal, another tall Jat leader in famous electoral battles in the Jat heartland of Rohtak. Mr. Hooda is well known for leading various farmer movements in Haryana. He is from the Indian National Congress. He is also a Member of the Bar Council of Punjab and Haryana. Birender Singh Sheokand is his first cousin.

Detailed Profile

Father’s Name - Choudhary Ranbir Singh

Date of Birth - September 15, 1947

Place of Birth - Village Sanghi, District Rohtak (Haryana)

Marital Status - Married

Date of Marriage - October 15, 1976

Spouse’s Name - Smt.Asha Hooda

Son's Name - Sh. Deepender Singh Hooda, former Member of Parliament, Rohtak ( Haryana ).

Educational Qualifications :schooling from SAINIK SCHOOL KUNJPURA (HARYANA) & B.A., LL.B. Educated at Panjab University, Chandigarh and University of Delhi, Delhi

Profession - Agriculturist, Advocate

Permanent Address - Matu Ram Bhawan, Model Town, Delhi Road, Rohtak-124001 (Haryana)

Positions held

1972-1977 - President, Block Congress Committee, Kiloi, Haryana

1980-87 - Senior Vice-president, Haryana Pradesh Youth Congress, Chairman of Panchayat Samiti Rohtak, Chairman of Panchayat Parishad of Haryana.

1991 - Elected to 10th Lok Sabha

1996 - Re-elected to 11th Lok Sabha (2nd term)

1998 - Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (3rd Term)

2000 - Elected to 9th Haryana Vidhan Sabha from Kiloi constituency.

2002-2004 - Leader of Opposition in Haryana Assembly

2005 - Elected to 10th Haryana Vidhan Sabha (bye-election from Kiloi) with a record margin of 1,03,635 votes)

March 5, 2005 - Sworn in as Chief Minister of Haryana.

October 25th., 2009 - re-elected as CLP leader and same day sworn as Chief Minister of Haryana for second term.

October 2014 - Re-elected is MLA of Haryana Vidhan Sabha. But since Congress Party lost majority, he lost his Chief-Ministership.

October 2019 - During state assembly election, he again won MLA election from Garhi Sampla-Kiloi constituency, defeating his rival candidate, Mr. Satish Nandal of BJP. This time, under his leadership, Congress regained strength in Haryana and won 31 seats. But full majority could not be achieved by Congress party and BJP again formed government in Haryana.

Social and Cultural Activities - Secretary, Jat Education Society, Rohtak, Haryana; Member, Managing Committee, D.A.V. Educational Society, Hasangarh, Haryana.

Countries Visited - Hong-Kong , Japan, South Korea , UAE, USA, former USSR, Pakistan , China and Nepal.

International Conferences

World Youth Festival in U.S.S.R, World Parliamentary Conference in China,International Conference in USSR as a delegate of AICC and OISCA and International Conferences in Japan and South Korea.

Other Information

President, All India Young Farmers’ Association, Haryana ; Ex-Member, Market Committee, Rohtak; Director, Bank of India, 1989-92; Secretary, Farmers’ Parliamentary Forum, 1991 onwards; Founder-Member and Working President of All India Freedom Fighters’ Successors’ Organisation; Working President, National Federation Railway Porters, Vendors and Bearers.Elected as a President for the Khadi & Village Industries Commission Employees Union & Patron for the National Khadi & Village Industries Board's Employees Federation - a apex body of all State K&V.I Board's Employees Unions. Good governance in Haryana, led by Ch. B.S. Hooda, Chief Minister.....


Back to The Leaders