Saraikela Kharsawan

From Jatland Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Author:Laxman Burdak, IFS (R)

Saraikela Kharsawan district map

Seraikela-Kharsawan (सराइकेला खरसावाँ) is one of the twenty-four districts of Jharkhand state in eastern India. Seraikela town is the district headquarters of Saraikela Kharsawan district. Earlier it was part of old Singhbhum.



Seraikela Kharsawan district consists of 09 Blocks. The following are the list of the Blocks in Seraikela Kharsawan district:

1 Seraikela, 2 Kharsawan, 3 Gamharia, 4 Kuchai, 5 Ichagarh, 6 Nimdih, 7 Chandil, 8 Rajnagar, 9 Kukru


The district is well known for Seraikela Chhau, one of the three distinctive styles of the chhau dance. This district was carved out from West Singhbhum district in 2001. The district was formed from the Odia princely states of Seraikela and Kharaswan, after the independence of India.

Rivers and lakes

Several rivers flow across Seraikela Kharsawan district. Among these Subarnarekha, Kharkai, Korkori are the important ones. Chandil dam is one of the popular and famous waterbodies of the district. It is located near the chandil town.[1]

External links