From Jatland Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Location of Buner

Buner (Hindi: बूनेर, Pashto: د بونیر ولسوالی‎) is a Valley and district of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province of Pakistan.


Administrative divisions

The Buner district is divided into five tehsils:


The Buner Valley lies on the Peshawar valley border of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. It is a small mountain valley, dotted with villages and divided into four sub-divisions. The Mora Hills and the Ilam range divide it from the Swat Valley, the Sinawar range from Yusafzai, the Guru mountains from the Mardan valley, and the Duma range from the Puran Valley.[1]

During the 19th century the inhabitants rose twice against the British, but submitted in 1897. Until the year 2000 it was a part of Malakand Division - until this division was abolished.

Visit by Xuanzang in 630 AD

  • Reaching Oḍḍiyāna, Xuanzang found 1,400 old monasteries, that had previously supported 18,000 monks. The remnant monks were of the Mahayana school.

External links


  1. "Buner". Encyclopædia Britannica 4 (11th ed.). Cambridge University Press.