Ajit Singh

From Jatland Wiki
(Redirected from Chaudhary Ajit Singh)
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Chaudhary Ajit Singh

Chaudhary Ajit Singh is a prominent leader from Western Uttar Pradesh, India. He belongs to Rashtriya Lok Dal Party. He was born on 12 February 1939 in Teotia gotra Jat family at village Bhadola in Meerut District of Uttar Pradesh. He is Son of former Prime Minister of India and Jat leader Chaudhary Charan Singh. He is married to Radhika and has one son and two daughters.


Ajit Singh did his Bsc, B. Tech and MS from the Lucknow University, IIT Kharagpur and Illinois Institute of Technology,Chicago, USA. He has a special interest in agriculture and modern technology. He is a Profession Computer Scientist , Engineer. He worked in the computer industry in the US for 17 years.

Entered Politics

Ajit Singh plunged into politics in the late eightees and was elected to Rajya Sabha in 1986. He was Secretary General of Janata Dal and was elected to 9th Lok Sabha. He was Union Cabinet Minister from Dec. 1989 to Nov. 1990

Ajit Singh first entered Parliament as a Rajya Sabha member in 1986, and is a fourth time member of the Lok Sabha. He became a Union Minister for the first time in 1989-90 when he was inducted into National Front led Government of Vishwanath Pratap Singh. He went on to become the Minister for Food under the Congress Government (1995-96) when P V Narasimha Rao was the Prime Minister.

Singh formed his own faction of the Lok Dal called Lok Dal (Ajit) in 1987 and a year later merged it with the Janata Party of which he became the President. When Janata Dal was formed by a merger of the Janata Party, Lok Dal (B) and Jan Morcha, Singh was elected its Secretary General. He was elected to the Lok Sabha in 1989 and re-elected in 1991.

In the mid-nineties, he moved to the Congress with a large slice of the Janata Dal MPs. After winning the Lok Sabha poll in 1996 on a Congress ticket, he left the party within a year to form the Bharatiya Kisan Kamgar Party. He resigned from the Lok Sabha membership and contested the by-election as a BKKP candidate from Baghpat. He won the seat by defeating his Samajwadi Party rival candidate.

Singh lost the 1998 election to Bharatiya Janata Party candidate Sh. Sompal Singh Shastri but avenged the defeat in 1999 as an Rashtriya Lok Dal member. Ch. Ajit Singh won from the Bagpat constituency in 2004 elections.

In 2009 elections, he was elected MP from Bagpat constituency on 16 May 2009, defeating his Congress rival, Sh. Sompal Singh Shastri. But in May 2014 elections, he was defeated by BJP rival Satyapal Singh in Bagpat constituency.


His Favourite Pastime includes reading and music.

Permanent Address

244/2, Shivaji Road, Meerut-250 001 (Uttar Pradesh)


See also

Tewatia/Teotia : For the gotra history of Chaudhary Ajit Singh


Back to The Leaders