Shaurya Chakra

From Jatland Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Shaurya Chakra

Shaurya Chakra is an Indian military decoration awarded for valour, courageous action or self-sacrifice while not engaged in direct action with the enemy. It may be awarded to civilians as well as military personnel, sometimes posthumously. It is the peacetime equivalent of the Vir Chakra. It is generally awarded for Counter-Insurgency operations and actions against the enemy during peace-time. It is third in order of precedence of peacetime gallantry awards and comes after the Ashoka Chakra and the Kirti Chakra. It precedes the Sena Medal. Before 1967, the award was known as the Ashoka Chakra, Class III.

List of Jat Recipients

Here is partial list of Jat Recipient of Shaurya Chakra.
Sajjan Singh Gahlawat-1.jpg
Sajjan Kumar Dahiya
  • Sajjan Kumar Dahiya (Lt Cdr) (born:20.10.1939-), Shaurya Chakra, belonged to Nahari village in Rai tahsil of Sonipat district of Haryana. Unit: INS Trishul. On the night of 4–5 December 1971, PNS Ghazi sunk with all 93 servicemen on board (11 officers and 82 enlisted[11]) under mysterious circumstances:[12] off the Visakhapatnam coast, allowing the Indian Navy to effect a naval blockade of East Pakistan.[13] According to the Indian Navy's claims, Captain Inder Singh Malik changed the course at full speed across the specified point and ordered to drop two depth charges, which was done.[14] The Hydrographic correction book of PNS GHAZI and one sheet of paper with the official seal of the Commanding Officer of PNS GHAZI were recovered by Sajjan Kumar Dahiya.[15]

External links

See also


Back to Lists of Jatland