Vir Chakra

From Jatland Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Vir Chakra

Vir Chakra (Vr.C.) is an Indian gallantry award presented for acts of bravery in the battlefield. It replaced the British Distinguished Service Cross (DSC), Military Cross (MC) and Distinguished Flying Cross (DFC). Award of the decoration carries with it the right to use Vr.C. as a postnominal abbreviation (note the care to distinguish this abbreviation from that for the Victoria Cross (V.C.). It is third in precedence in the war time gallantry awards and comes after the Param Vir Chakra and Maha Vir Chakra.

List of Jat Recipients

Harbhajan Singh Atwal.jpg
  • Harbhajan Singh Atwal (LNK) (15.03.1947 - 06.01.2019), Vir Chakra, fought Indo-Pak War 1971 in eastern sector bravely for which he was awarded Vir Chakra. Unit: 4 Sikh Regiment. He retired from Army as an honourary captain. He died on 06.01.2019.
Jai Pal Ridhau.png
Here is partial list of Jat Recipients of Vir Chakra . You may add more.
Khajan Singh Sangwan-2.jpg
Amarjeet Singh Sandhu.png
Pale Ram Dalal.jpg
Pravin Kumar Barak.png
  • Pravin Kumar Barak (Col) (b.18.02.1976-) fought Kargil War in 1999 and was awarded Vira Chakra for his act of bravery. He belongs to a family of army men. His father Mahabir Singh Barak and grandfather Amilal were in Indian Army. He belongs to village Baland in tahsil and district Rohtak in Haryana. Unit: 14 Sikh Regiment.
Har Iqbal Singh Dhaliwal-1.png
Tej Prakash Singh Gill.png
  • Tej Prakash Singh Gill (Sqdn Leader) did act of bravery on 19 & 21 September 1965 in 21 Ground Attack Missions during Indo-Pak War-1965.
Dharam Chand Dhillon.jpg
Naib Singh Gill.jpg
  • Naib Singh Gill (Naik) (22.12.1939 - 03.12.1971), Vira Chakra (Posthumous), became martyr on 03.12.1971 in Operation Cactus Lily during Indo-Pak War-1971 in western sector. Unit: 6 Sikh Regiment. He was from village Mallewala in tahsil and district Faridkot of Punjab.

External Link

See also


Back to Lists of Jatland